Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

Press Foundation Trustees

The Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Foundation is a tax-deductible organization created in 1998 by the MDDC Press Association to enhance news journalism in Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia.  It is incorporated in Maryland as an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. 

The Foundation's current activities focus on young journalists through its Reese Cleghorn Internship Program and the Michael S. Powell High School Journalist Scholarship.   Please help support young journalists with your tax-deductible gift to the Foundation.  Donate today!

Reese Cleghorn Internship Program

Named for former Dean of the University of Maryland Phillip Merrill College of Journalism, the Reese Cleghorn Internship Program supports local publications and developing journalists by providing college students paid, intensive, real-world experience in member publications' newsrooms each summer.  Over the past 15 years, 112 MDDC interns from 33 schools have served 34 member publications in 22 towns throughout the region.  Member publications have consistently demonstrated their committment to the program by offering meaningful learning environments for interns as well as covering their income tax and other expenses.

Click here for more information about the program.

Michael S. Powell High School Journalist Scholarship

Named for a long-time editor of the Frederick News-Post, the Michael S. Powell High School Journalist program awards a cash award of $1,500 to a deserving high school senior.  Students are asked to submit an autobiographical statement about journalism, a letter of recommendation from their journalism teacher or advisor as well as five published articles demonstrating their versatility and skill.  Since its inception in 1999, the program has honored 16 students.

Click here for more information about the scholarship program.


Our trustees represent our member publications across the region. They bring vast experience in all areas of publishing and the many disciplines involved in producing outstanding journalism. They share a commitment to the mission and values of the MDDC Foundation.


Chris Eddings, The Daily Record (retired) - President
John League, The Herald-Mail (retired) – Vice President


Lucy Dalglish, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland
Laura Handman, Davis Wright Tremaine
Tom Linthicum, TDL Group
John McIntyre, The Baltimore Sun
Carol Melamed, The Washington Post (retired)
John J. Oliver, Jr., The Afro-American Newspapers
Myron Randall, The Frederick News-Post
Nathan Siegel, Davis Wright Tremaine
Reginald Stuart, SDX Foundation
Chuck Tobin, Ballard Spahr

Contact Information

Rebecca Snyder, Executive Director
Maryland-Delaware-D.C. Press Foundation
P.O. Box 26214, Baltimore, MD 21210
Cell:  443-768-3281

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button