Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

Editorial Contest Archives

The Editorial Contest awards first and second place honors in each of six divisions:

  • Division A - Dailies over 75,000
  • Division B - Dailies 30,000 to 75,000
  • Division C - Dailies under 30,000
  • Division D - Non-dailies over 20,000
  • Division E - Non-dailies 10,000 to 20,000
  • Division F - Non-dailies under 10,000

In 2010, certain categories were judged based on circulation type (daily or non-daily) rather than size.

There is an overall Newspaper of the Year award presented to the newspaper in each division that accumulates the most points in the contest. Three points are awarded for first place; two points for second place. 

One Best of Show plaque is awarded in each category, regardless of division. Additionally, the James S. Keat Freedom of Information Award* (FOI) is presented to one newspaper, regardless of its circulation division. These winners are identified in the Best of Show PDF.

*If no FOI Award winner is listed, the judges declared no contest.

2012 Contest

2011 Contest

2010 Contest Year

2009 Contest Year

2008 Contest Year

2007 Contest Year

2006 Contest Year

2005 Contest Year

2004 Contest Year

2003 Contest Year

2002 Contest Year

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button