Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

MDDC Hall of Fame

The MDDC Hall of Fame, established in 1947, honors outstanding newspaper professionals whose careers were marked by excellence at news media organizations in Maryland, Delaware or the District of Columbia. Members of the hall date back to the 19th century and hail from rural weekly papers, metro-area dailies and everything in between.

The Hall is located in the College of Journalism Building at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland College Park. Election to the Hall is a distinctive honor, and to be nominated a person must be or have been long-employed at a news media organization that either is a member or eligible to be a member of the Association.

Nominate someone for the Hall of Fame.

Our newest honorees are Deborah Cornely of The Dundalk Eagle and Rick Cullen of The Daily Times, inducted in 2018.






Deborah Cornely

Rick Cullen

Nominations are accepted year-round, though must be received by January 30 for consideration for that year's Hall of Fame class.  Nominations received before January 30 are considered by the Executive Committee, and the honorees are voted on by the full Board.  See below for the full listing of the Hall of Fame members.  Follow the links for more detailed information on Hall of Fame members.


Name Title Affiliation
2018 Deborah Cornely Editor & Publisher The Dundalk Eagle
2018 Rick Cullen Editor The Daily Times
2016 Ed Waters, Jr. Reporter & Photographer Frederick News-Post
2015 Lee A. McCardell *
Christmas Letter 1944
Reporter & Editor The Baltimore Sun
2015 Carl J. Murphy Publisher The AFRO-American Newspapers
2014 Mary J. Corey Senior Vice President & Director of Content Baltimore Sun Media Group
2014 Denise Riley Editor Emeritus The Star Democrat
2014 Brice Stump Journalist & Photographer The Daily Times
2013 James S. Keat *
2016 Obituary
Editor Baltimore Sun
2013     Tom Marquardt Publisher Annapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2013 Carol Melamed VP, Government Affairs The Washington Post
2012 Bruce Hotchkiss Editor Delmarva Farmer
2012     Lou Panos Reporter Baltimore Sun
2011 William H. Kerbin Editor Worcester County Times
2011 Nicholas Horrock Journalist Washington Examiner / Baltimore Sun
2011 W. Curtis Riddle Publisher News Journal
2010 Mike Mahr Director of Advertising Washington Times
2010 Jean F. Moon Managing Editor Patuxent Publishing
2010 Ralph Moyed Reporter News Journal
2010 Zeke Orlinsky Publisher Patuxent Publishing
2009 Bill Burton Editor Baltimore Evening Sun/Bay Weekly
2009 Jim Flood Sr. Publisher Dover Post
2009 Dan Tabler Columnist Queen Anne's Record Observer
2009 Sid Yudain Publisher Roll Call
2008 Harry C. Black Publisher Baltimore Sun
2008 Herb Block Editorial Cartoonist The Washington Post
2008 Philip Merrill Publisher Annapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2008 John Henry Murphy Sr. *
2010 Obituary
Editor/Publisher The AFRO-American Newspapers
2008 Moses Newson Managing Editor The AFRO-American Newspapers
2008 Shirley Povich Columnist The Washington Post
2008 George E. Randall Publisher The Frederick News-Post
2008 Robert B. Sincell Sr. Publisher The Republican
2008 John Steadman Reporter/Writer Baltimore News-American/Sun
2007 Tom Bradlee Publisher Chesapeake Publishing
2006 Edwin Warfield III Publisher The Daily Record Company
2005 Meg Greenfield Editorial Page Editor The Washington Post
2004 James M. Schurz Publisher Herald-Mail
2003 Edward D. Casey Editor Annapolis Capital & MD Gazette
2002 J. Suter Kegg Editor Cumberland Times-News
2001 Katharine Graham Publisher The Washington Post
2000 Roger B. Farquhar Editor Montgomery County Sentinel
1999 Joseph R.L. Sterne Editorial Page Editor Baltimore Sun
1998 W. Wright Robinson Columnist Leader & State Register
1997 Benjamin Bradlee Editor The Washington Post
1995 Jon Franklin Writer Baltimore Sun
1994 Sam Lacy Reporter The AFRO-American Newspapers
1993 George B. Delaplaine Jr Publisher Frederick News-Post
1992 E. Ralph Hostetter Publisher Delmarva Farmer
1991 Frank Woodfield Copy Editor Baltimore Sun
1990 Bernard J. (Jack) Smyth Editor/Publisher Delaware State News
1990 William Penn Frank Columnist Wilmington News Journal
1988 Gerald W. Johnson Op-Ed Writer/Columnist The New Republic
1986 Gertrude Poe Editor/Publisher Laurel Leader
1985 Arunah S. Abell Publisher Baltimore Sun papers
1985 Louis Azrael Columnist Baltimore News-American
1984 A. Aubrey Bodine Photographer Baltimore Sun papers
1984 Anne Catherine Hoof Green Publisher Maryland Gazette
1984 Williams Parks Publisher Maryland Gazette
1974 Charles Neill Baylor Editor Hagerstown Herald & Daily Mail
1974 Elmer M. (Jay) Jackson III Editor Anne Arundel Times
1974 Henry Louis 'H.L.' Mencken Columnist Baltimore Sun papers
1974 B.C.F. (Joe) Mulieri Editor Anne Arundel Star
1974 John D. Worthington Jr. Publisher The Aegis
1955 Andrew Banks Jr. Editor Baltimore News-Post
1954 Dr. Edward Clarke Editor/Publisher Worcester Democrat
1954 Robert E. Delaplaine Publisher Frederick News-Post
1953 Michael William Aker Editor Queenstown News
1953 William Malone Baskerville Editor/Publisher Baltimore News-Post
1953 William Wakefield Duke Publisher/Judge Calvert Journal
1952 Aloysius Fenwick King Editor St. Mary's Beacon
1952 Paul Chenery Patterson Publisher Baltimore Sun papers
1952 Paul Stromberg Publisher Stromberg Publications
1947 Benjamin H. Sincell Editor/Publisher The Republican

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button