Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

2015 MDDC Editorial Contest Winners

Congratulations to the 2015 Editorial Contest Winners!

The Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the annual Editorial Contest in the list below*.  These winners represent the best work of member publications in Maryland, Delaware and DC.  Publications are divided into six categories, based on circulation, and entries are judged, in most cases, by a sister press association.  This year, judges from the New Jersey Press Association evaluated our entries.  A distinguished panel of local judges reviewed the work for Rookie of the Year category, James S. Keat FOI Award and General Website Excellence. All of the winners will be included in our special awards publication, sponsored by APG Chesapeake, and will be given to each attendee following the awards luncheon.

The judges were very impressed with the caliber of writing in the contest and the competition was stiff!  We received 1,913 entries from 53 member publications.  We will post all of the winning entries on our website after the event.   

The press association will celebrate all of the winners at the Editorial Awards Program, May 13, 2016 from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.  at the BWI Westin Hotel in Linthicum, Maryland.  During that program, we will reveal the individual winners and their placements, the Best in Show category winners and News Media Organization of the Year.  We will also recognize the James S. Keat FOI Award, the Michael S. Powell High School Journalist of the Year, and Editorial Rookie of the Year.

Don’t miss this event, which showcases the best of our industry!  Thank you to our sponsors, APG Chesapeake and VPC. Additorial sponsorship opportunites are still available, please contact Tara Sullivan for details. Tickets are available now for the awards luncheon

*indicate multiple wins.

Division A – Dailies over 75,000

The Baltimore Sun

Adam  Marton
Amy Davis*
Baltimore Sun Staff* 
Baltimore Sun Visuals Staff* 
Catherine  Rentz*
Childs Walker*
Chris Kaltenbach
Christina Jedra
Christopher T.  Assaf*
Colin  Campbell
Dan  Rodricks
David  Zurawik 
Doug Donovan
Emma Patti  Harris*
Erica Green
Erin Cox*
Glenn McNatt
Greg  Kohn*
John Fritze
Jon Meoli*
Jonathan  Pitts*
Justin Fenton*
Karl Merton  Ferron
Kevin Kallaugher*
Liz Bowie*
Lloyd  Fox*
Luke Broadwater*
Mary McCauley
Mayah Collins
Natalie Sherman*
Patrick  Maynard
Paul  Lachine
Paul Bendel-Simso
Peter Jensen
Peter Schmuck
Ron Fritz
Susan  Reimer
Timothy  Wheeler*
Tracie Rawson
Yvonne Wenger

The News Journal

Andre Smith
Adam  Wagner
Cris Barrish
Daniel Sato
Esteban  Parra
James Fisher
Jason  Minto*
Jeffrey  Gentry
Kyle Grantham
Meghan Montemurro
Saranac Hale Spencer
Scott Goss
Xerxes  Wilson

The Washington Post

Barry Svrluga
Bonnie Benwick
Brian  Gross
Caitlin Gibson
Chris  Rukan
Christian  Font
Dan  Steinberg
Dan  Worthington*
Darryl Fears
Greg Manifold
Jim  Webster
Jonathan O'Connell
Marianne Seregi
Michael Johnson
Richard Johnson
Shelly Tan
Staff *
Terrence McCoy

Retta Blaney

Division B – Dailies from 20,000 to 75,000

The Capital

Bill  Wagner
Brandi Bottalico*
Chase Cook*
Christina  Jedra*
Cindy Huang
David Marsters*
Gerald  Fischman
Greg Nucifora
Jay  Judge
Jimmy DeButts
Joshua McKerrow
Mark  Murphy
Matt Cole
News Staff
Paul  Gillespie*
Rema Rahman*
Rob  Hiaasen
Tim  Pratt
Tim  Prudente
Ulysses Munoz*
Wendi  Winters

The Frederick News-Post

Cliff Cumber
Colin McGuire
Danielle Gaines
Don Dearmon
Erik Anderson
Graham Cullen*
Greg Swatek
Jeremy Bauer-Wolf*
Joseph Dever
Joshua  Smith*
Julianne Peeling
Karen Gardner
Lauren LaRocca
Madeline Xiao
Nancy  Lavin
Paige Jones*
Patti Borda Mullins
Sam Yu*
Susan Guynn
Sylvia Carignan*
The Frederick News-Post staff 

The Herald-Mail

Andy Mason
Bob Parasiliti
C.J. Lovelace*
Crystal Schelle*
Dan Dearth
Dave Barnhart
Jennifer Fitch
Joe Crocetta
Julie Greene
Kevin Gilbert
Ric Dugan*

Division C – Dailies under 20,000

Carroll County Times

Brian Compere*
Dave Munch*
Dylan Slagle*
Jake Rill
Jon Kelvey*
Ken  Koons*
Paul  Milton
Staff *
Ulysses Munoz
Wayne Carter
Wiley Hayes

Cecil Whig

Carl Hamilton*
Jane Bellmyer

Cumberland Times

James Rada
Michael Sawyers

The Daily Record

Adam  Bednar*
Anamika  Roy
Bryan P.  Sears*
Dan Karlin
Daniel Leaderman
Danny Jacobs
Jason Whong
Lauren  Kirkwood
Maximilian  Franz*

The Daily Times

Brian  Shane
Brenna Griteman
Chrishelle Griffin
Cindy Robinson
Dana Stewart
Deborah Gates*
Emily  Chappell*
Hannah Carroll
James  Diem
James Warren
Jeremy Cox*
Joe Lamberti*
Justin Odendhal*
Keith Demko
Michele Aed*
Mitchell  Northam*
Phil  Davis*
Rachael Pacella
Ralph Musthaler
Ryan  Marshall*
Shawn Yonker
Staff *
Susan  Parker*
Ted  Shockley
Vanessa  Junkin

Delaware State News

Andy Walter
Arshon Howard
Craig Anderson
Dave Chambers*

The Star Democrat

Bethany Ziegler
Dustin Holt
Henley  Moore*
John Griep
Katie Willis

Division D – Non-dailies over 20,000

The Aegis

Aegis Editors *
Aegis Photographers 
Aegis Reporters 
Aegis Web Team 
Allan Vought
Brian Krista
Bryna Zumer*
Dan Griffin
David  Anderson*
Erika Butler
Matt Button*
Randy McRoberts*
Steve Ruark

Baltimore City Paper

Baynard Woods
Brandon  Soderberg
Elizabeth Doerr
Eric Ericson
J.M. Giordano*
Jake Carlo
Karen Houppert

The Catholic Review

Erik Zygmont*
Karen Osborne
Paul McMullen*
Rita Buettner
Sara Goldscher*
The Catholic Review Staff *

Laurel Leader

Allison Eatouch
Blair Ames
Janene Holzberg*
Jen Rynda*
Jon Sham*
Patti Restivo
Tony Glaros

Sussex County Post

Glenn  Rolfe

Towson Times


Barbara Pash*
Brian Krista
Dan Griffin
John Scheinman
Jon Sham*
Jordan Branch
Jordan Branch*
Kathleen Reynolds
Larry Perl*
Mary Tilghman
Nelson Coffin

Division E – Non-dailies 10,000 to 20,000

Andrews Gazette

Leslie Smith

Baltimore Jewish Times

Ebony Brown*
Jennifer Perkins-Frantz
Lindsey Bridwell
Melissa Gerr*

Calvert Recorder

Darwin Weigel

Cape Gazette

Chris Flood*
Chris Wildt
Dan Cook*
Deny  Howeth
Laura Ritter
Maddy Lauria
Maddy Lauria
Melissa  Steele*
Ronald MacArthur*

Coastal Point

Kerin Magill
Maria Counts*
R. Chris Clark*
Shaun M. Lambert

The Dundalk Eagle

Bill Gates

The Enterprise

Jason Babcock*
Jesse Yeatman*
John  Wharton*
Reid Silverman
Reid Silverman*
Rick Boyd*

Howard County Times

Amanda Yeager*
Andrew Michaels
Blair Ames
Brent Kennedy
David Sturm
Doug Miller
Jen Rynda*
Jon Sham*
Kathleen Reynolds
Lisa Philip*
Mike Giuliano
Tim Schwartz*

The Journal (Bethesda)

Sarah  Marshall

Ocean City Today

Kara Hallissey

Salisbury Independent

Darin Powell
Greg  Bassett*
Susan Canfora*
Todd Dudek

Washington Business Journal

Carolyn Proctor
Daniel J. Sernovitz
Emily  Mekinc*
Jamey Fry
Michael  Neibauer*
Tina  Reed
Vandana Sinha*

Washington Jewish Week

Suzanne Pollak

Division F – Non-dailies under 10,000

APG News

Molly Blosse
Stacy  Smith

Arbutus Times

Heather Norris*

Baltimore Business Journal

James  Briggs*
Jaclyn Borowski
Joanna Sullivan*
Rick Seltzer*
Sarah Gantz*
Staff of the Baltimore Business Journal *
Timothy  Sandoval
Wendy Goldfarb*

Baltimore Messenger

Kathleen Reynolds
Larry Perl*

Bay Times

Angela Price

Catonsville Times

Brian Krista
Heather Norris*
Jen Rynda
Keith Meisel
Kim Butler
Rachael Pacella

Kent County News

Dorian Mitchell
Trish McGee

Montgomery County Sentinel

Brandy Simms
Brennan  Karem*
Brian  Karem*
Brianna Shea
David Wolfe
Forrest Carr
Holden Wilen
Julian  Sadur*
Mark  Robinson
Rebecca Guterman*
Rick  Miller
Terry Brennan 
The Sentinel Staff 
Wyatt Karem*

The Newark Post

Karie Simmons

Potomac Almanac

Carole Dell
Jon Roetman
Marilyn Campbell
Susan Belford

The Record

Allan Vought
Brian Krista*
Bryna Zumer
David Anderson*
Denise Sanders
Gia  Watson
Matt Button*
Randy McRoberts

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button