Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

Advertising Contest Winners Announcement

8-20-15, Annapolis, Maryland: The Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the annual Advertising Contest in the list below*.  These winners represent the best work of member publications in Maryland, Delaware and DC.  There are four divisions in the contest, which group member publications into daily and non-daily categories, then further group them by print circulation. The Advertising Contest is governed by the Association’s Press Services Committee and admitted over 250 entries this year. This year, judges from the Texas Press Association evaluated our entries. 

One Best in Category award is given in each category across all divisions.  Additionally, individual awards are given for standout personnel, including Overcoming Obstacles, Idea Generator and Rookie of the Year, with an overall Sales Executive of the Year and Designer of the Year.  The capstone award, one per division, is Advertising Sweepstakes.  All of the winners will be included in our special awards publication, which will be given to each attendee.

The press association will celebrate all of the winners at the Advertising Awards Lunch, September 10, 2015 from 11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.  at the Governor Calvert House in Annapolis, Maryland.  During the program, we will reveal the individual winners and their placements, the Best in Show category winners and sweepstakes awards. Attendees will have opportunity to vote on Best House Promotion Ad and Best Promotion of Publication.

Don’t miss this event, which showcases the best of our industry!  Tickets are available now.

*Bolded names indicate multiple wins.


Division A – Dailies 35,000 and over

The Baltimore Sun

  • Judy Boyle
  • Elaine Markman


The Frederick News-Post

  • Kini Allen
  • Kevin Berrier
  • Samantha Bangh
  • Lane Fields
  • Erin Hajjar
  • Connie Hastings
  • Colin McGuire
  • Valerie Marcin
  • Jennifer Speak
  • Geordie Wilson


The Washington Times

  • Adriana Falco
  • Darrell Jones
  • The Washington Times Marketing Staff
  • Patrick Crofoot
  • John Solomon


Division B – Dailies under 35,000

Cecil Whig

  • Renee Edge
  • Maria Foglio
  • Lisa Minto
  • Brittany Twyman


Delaware State News

  • Delaware State News Advertising Sales Staff
  • Heather Cregar
  • Cyndi Eldred
  • Delaware State News Graphics & Ad Support Staff
  • Samantha Hemphill
  • Lee Hoover
  • Tonda Parks
  • Katrina Sullivan
  • Sue Short
  • Delaware State News Telemarketing Staff                        


The Daily Record

  • David Adler
  • Erin Cunningham
  • The Daily Record Staff
  • Max Franz


The Star Democrat

  • David Anthony
  • Maria Foglio
  • Betsy Griffin
  • Margaret Iovino
  • Greg Mueller
  • Sherry Plummer
  • The Star Democrat Design Team
  • The Star Democrat Editorial Team


Division C – Non-dailies 15,000 and over

Coastal Point

  • Bob Bertram
  • Coastal Point Staff
  • Maria Counts
  • David Elliott
  • Shaun Lambert
  • Tom Maglio
  • Kathy Jo Robbins


Ocean City Today

  • Kelly Brown
  • Debbie Haas
  • Kaitlin Sowa


Sussex County Post

  • Angi Hicks
  • Jenny Keim


The Dundalk Eagle

  • Jason O’Neill
  • Paul Rosenberger
  • Jill Zinn


Division D – Non-dailies under 15,000

Cape Gazette

  • Cindy Bowling
  • Cape Gazette Advertising Staff
  • Edwin Krumm
  • Kathy McGinty
  • Amanda Neafie
  • Cape Gazette Production Staff
  • Sherresha Powell
  • Chris Rausch
  • Teresa Rodriguez
  • Kristin Sinnott
  • Andrew Thomas


Maryland Independent

  • Maryland Independent Advertising Staff


The Baltimore Jewish Times

  • Erin Clare
  • Cortney Geare


The Delmarva Farmer

  • The Delmarva Farmer Staff
  • Renee Van Pelt


The Enterprise

  • The Enterprise Advertising Staff


The Recorder

  • The Recorder Advertising Staff


Washington Jewish Week

  • Alyona Motkina

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button