Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

Editorial Contest Closes Wednesday, January 28

MDDC's Editorial Contest is now open online and will accept entries until January 28, 2015 at 11:59 p.m. 

To download the full, 10-page contest packet, including general information, contest rules, category descriptions and the declaration of originality form, please click here.

The MDDC Editorial Contest recognizes editorial excellence in the publications of Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia.  The contest features 48 categories in each of six circulation divisions, plus a special Rookie of the Year and Freedom of Information award.   Each publication's publisher or editor must certify the originality of all submitted entries. 

Deadline & Fees:

All entries must be uploaded to the contest online entry platform by 11:59 p.m. on Wednesday, January 28, 2015.  The fee is $15 per entry.


The contest is open to all staff members and freelancers of full/active member newspapers.  Freelancers are not able to enter individually and must enter through the newspaper they write for.  Affiliate members may enter categories E32-E40 (online, social media and multi-media news and features).


The entries will be judged by newspaper professionals from the Texas Press Association, and MDDC members will reciprocally judge the Texas contest in Spring 2015.


The 2014 Editorial Contest awards will be presented at the MDDC Editorial Awards Luncheon on Friday, May 1, 2015 at the BWI Westin in Linthicum, Maryland.  Certificates in each division will be presetned to the first and second place winners and one Best of Show award is presented in each category. The Newspaper of the Year award is presented to the newspaper in each circulation division that accumulates the most points in the contest.  First place awards earn three points and second place awards earn two points.  In the event of a tie, the number of first place wins will be the determining factor.  A list of winners will be pubicized prior to the Luncheon presentation, although the complete details of contest wins, including Best in Show, first and second place wins will be revealed only at the Awards Luncheon.

Circulation Divisions:

Circulation divisions for the contest are based on each newspaper's circulation as reported to MDDC for dues in 2014.  The divisions are:

  • Division A:  Dailies over 75,000 circulation
  • Division B:  Dailies from 30,000 to 75,000
  • Division C:  Dailies under 30,000
  • Division D:  Non-dailies over 20,000
  • Division E:  Non-dailies from 10,000 to 20,000
  • Division F:  Non-dailies under 10,000

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button