Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

MDDC Advertising Contest 2015-16 Winner’s Announcement

7-28-16, Annapolis, Maryland: The Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Association is proud to announce the winners of the annual Advertising Contest in the list below*.  These winners represent the best work of member publications in Maryland, Delaware and DC.  There are four divisions in the contest, which group member publications into daily and non-daily categories, then further group them by print circulation. The Advertising Contest is governed by the Association’s Press Services Committee and admitted over 250 entries this year. This year, judges from the New Jersey Press Association evaluated our entries. 


One Best in Category award is given in each category across all divisions.  Additionally, individual awards are given for standout personnel, including Overcoming Obstacles, Idea Generator and Rookie of the Year, with an overall Sales Executive of the Year and Designer of the Year.  The capstone award, one per division, is Advertising Sweepstakes.  All of the winners will be included in our special awards publication, which will be given to each attendee.


The press association will celebrate all of the winners at the Advertising Awards Lunch, September 8, 2016 starting at 11:00am at the BWI Westin in Linthicum, MD.  During the program, we will reveal the individual winners and their placements, the Best in Show category winners and sweepstakes awards. Attendees will have opportunity to vote on Best House Promotion Ad and Best Promotion of Publication.


Following the awards lunch, there will be the Advertising Agency Meet and Greet, where MDDC member publications can meet privately with local and regional advertising agencies.


Don’t miss this event, which showcases the best of our industry! Agency Lunch Sponsor and other sponsorship opportunities still available. Contact Tara Sullivan at tsullivan@mddcpress.com for more details. Tickets are available now.

*indicate multiple wins.


Division A - Dailies over 35,000


The Baltimore Sun

David Wright*

Elaine Markman*

Judy Boyle*


Division B - Dailies under 35,000


Cecil Whig

Lisa Minto*

Maria Foglio

Terri Thompson


The Daily Record

Maxmilian Franz

Ryan O'Shea


Tom Baden


Delaware State News

Advertising Sales & Support Teams*

Amber Frushon*

Amy Mullen

Barbara Bryan

Cyndi Eldred*

Cyndy Paquette*

Graphics Team *

Heather Cregar*

Katrina Sullivan*

Lee Hoover*

Newsroom Staff*

Sue Short*

Telemarketing Team


The Frederick News-Post

Anna Joyce*

Cecelia Lee*

Connie Hastings

Dawn Routzahn

Erin Hajjar*

Kevin Berrier

Kevin Spillane

Samantha Bangh*

Shelley Sullivan*


The Star Democrat

Betsy Griffin*

Bradlee Cohee

Brandon Silverstein*

Georgi Chauvin

Kristie Blight

Lynn Faulstick

Maria Foglio

Sally Covey

Samantha Poland


Division C - Non-dailies 15,000 and over


Coastal Point

David Elliott*


Tom Maglio*


Maryland Independent

Akville DeMarco*

Greg Mueller*

Kathy Russell

Kevin Maljak

Lisa Hoepfl

Maryland Independent Ad Staff

Megan Johnson

Southern Maryland Ad Staff


Salisbury Independent

Cathy Kayanagi*

Angela Hicks*


Sussex County Post

Jenny Keim*

Angela Hicks*

Sussex County Post Staff


Division D - Non-dailies under 15,000


Baltimore Jewish Times

Cortney Geare

Ebony Brown

Erin Clare*

Jennifer Perkins-Frantz

Lindsey Bridwell*

Lonna Koblick

Michael Jankovitz*


Cape Gazette

Advertising  Staff
Amanda Neafie
Andrew Thomas*
Bob Yesbek
Chris Rausch*
Cindy Bowlin*
Edwin Krumm*
Kathy McGinty*
Kristin Sinnott
Production Staff
Teresa Rodriguez*


Dorchester Banner

Dorchester Banner Staff


The Dundalk Eagle

Jason O'Neill

Jill Zinn*

Terri Thompson


The Journal (Bethesda)

Catherine Myrick*


Washington Jewish Week

Alyona Motkina*

Ellen Minsavage

Erin Clare

Joe MacLeod

Kim Michalov

Lindsey Bridwell

Michael Jankovitz

Mike Marshall*

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button