Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

MDDC Celebrates Hall of Fame & Distinguished Service Awards Winners

Philip Merrill College of Journalism hosts MDDC celebration June 5th
The Maryland Delaware DC Press Association inducted three people into the Hall of Fame and bestowed the Distinguished Service Award on June 5th at Knight Hall, Philip Merrill College of Journalism, University of Maryland. These programs are especially significant to the industry and MDDC publications. The people honored June 5 are men and women all in our profession respect and admire. They are leaders in the media industry, agents of change, trail blazers and passionate about the many issues that affect MDDC member papers. The honorees are, in alphabetical order:

Hall of Fame
Mary J. Corey, Senior Vice President and Director of Content, Baltimore Sun Media Group
Denise Riley, Executive Editor, The Star Democrat, Easton
Brice Stump, Journalist & Photographer, The Daily Times, Salisbury

Distinguished Service Award
Christopher A. Eddings

See photos from the event here.

Hall of Fame
The MDDC Hall of Fame program honors outstanding newspaper professionals whose careers were marked by excellence in Maryland, Delaware or the District of Columbia. The Hall of Fame was established in 1947 and has honored 65 individuals reflecting the diversity of our membership: from rural weeklies to metro-area dailies. Past honorees include luminaries like William Parks, who published the Maryland Gazette of Annapolis – Maryland’s first newspaper, to H.L. Mencken of the Baltimore Evening Sun; to Ben Bradlee and Katherine Graham of the Washington Post to John Henry Murphy, Sr., the founder of The Afro-American newspaper. Our Hall of Fame is housed in the MDDC Classroom here in Knight Hall, and I hope that everyone has gotten a chance to walk through it tonight.

Distinguished Service Award
The Distinguished Service award has been bestowed on individuals who have dedicated significant, sustained service to the Association and its members. This award was created in 2004 and has been given to nine outstanding individuals, most recently to Frank Quine in 2012, John League in 2011 and Tom Schmidt in 2010.

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button