Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

MDDC Celebrates Winners of 2015 Editorial Awards

Reporters, editors and other media professionals receive awards at Editorial Awards luncheon May 13 at BWI Westin in Linthicum, MD.

Members and supporters of the Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Association came together today at a luncheon program to honor excellence in journalism by recognizing the winners of the Editorial Contest, which celebrates print and online work completed in 2015.  The contest, governed by the Association’s Editorial Committee, admitted nearly 2,000 entries from member publications among 50 categories.  There are six divisions in the contest, which group member publications into daily and non-daily categories, then further group them by circulation.  One Best in Show award is given in each category across all divisions.  Additionally, one James S. Keat Freedom of Information Award is given across all divisions to the publication best demonstrating use of public information act requests in its reporting.  The capstone award, one per division, is News Organization of the Year.

Congratulations to all of our winners! Highlights from event follows. For the full press release, please click here.

Check out all the event photos here

Rookie of Year Award

Brittany Horn, of The News Journal in Wilmington, DE, won the award based on the strength and versatility of her reporting.  Horn covers breaking news and crime across Delaware, focusing on Wilmington and New Castle crime trends.

James S. Keat Freedom of Information Award

The Baltimore Sun won the James S. Keat Freedom of Information Award for its work using public records to give readers answers about the death of Freddie Gray. The judges were impressed by the work represented, noting it was “absolutely incredible”, including insight and commentary buttressed by strong reporting from public records. In its entry, the Sun said when the city responded to one public records request by disclosing more than 7,000 documents, more than a half-dozen reporters banded together to read them all —in one day, only to then produce an online story gallery that was updated in real-time, uploaded dozens of documents to The Sun’s website and wrote a front-page story.

News Organization of the Year

The News Organization of the Year awards represent the best publication in each division.  These awards are chosen based on the points accumulated for first and second prizes in each category.  

Division A (dailies over 75,000)                               

Division B (dailies from 20,000 to 75,000)          

Division C (dailies under 20,000)                                        

Division D (non-dailies over 20,000)

 Division E (non-dailies from 10,000 to 20,000)

Division F (non-dailies under 10,000).

Best of Show Winners

Full List of Winners   Link to Winning Entries  Link to Awards Publication

Michael S. Powell High School Journalist of the Year

Richard Montgomery High School senior Andrew Kostka was named the 2016 Michael S. Powell High School Journalist of the Year.  Kostka is currently the editor-in-chief of Richard Montgomery High School’s newspaper.The judges felt Andrew’s “writing abilities are strong and his submissions show he can cover a range of topics, although it is clear to see his heart belongs to sports journalism.”  The committee was impressed with Andrew’s potential, noting “he could step into a newsroom right away.”

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button