Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

MDDC Newspaper Hall of Fame Reception Moved to August 15

By T.C. Cameron

Originally positioned to be an unofficial kickoff to summer, last week’s potentially dangerous storms have turned the MDDC Newspaper Hall of Fame reception into a last hurrah of the season.

The reception, originally scheduled for June 13, has been moved to August 15. The time and location of the event – 5 p.m. at Knight Hall at the Philip Merrill College of Journalism at the University of Maryland – has not changed.

Citing fears about guests traveling into the teeth of storms which were forecast to be comparable with last June’s Derecho, MDDC President Paul Milton and Executive Director Jack Murphy made the decision Wednesday night to postpone the event. A large swath of severe weather threatened a portion of the country from as far west as Illinois through the Baltimore-D.C. region. Last June's Derecho storm caused massive power outages in several states and caused billions of dollars in property damage, utility repair and disruption to daily businesses.

MDDC will induct Carol Melamed (The Washington Post), James S. Keat (Baltimore Sun) and Tom Marquardt (Annapolis Capital) in the association’s Hall of Fame. MDDC will also present Frank Quine with the Distinguished Service Award (DSA). Quine is a retired assistant dean from the University of Maryland’s journalism school and was instrumental in the placement of the MDDC Newspaper Hall of Fame at Knight Hall.

Melamed, Keat and Marquardt are all former Distinguished Service Award winners, which has been an annual award since 2004.

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button