Home | Calendar | Contact Us | Site Map | Member Login | Search |

Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. Newspapers Since 1908

Press Association names Hall of Fame and Distinguished Service honorees

The board of directors has chosen two long-serving newspaper men, Carl Murphy and Lee McCardell, to enter the Hall of Fame, and chose Pat Richardson to receive the Distinguished Service Award.  The awards presentation will be held the evening of Thursday, May 28th at The University of Maryland, College Park. 

Carl J. Murphy was the former Chairman of the Board and Publisher of the AFROAmerican Newspapers. He was the longest serving Publisher until his death in 1967, and was one of Baltimore’s foremost journalists and national pioneer in African-American print journalist. In his almost half-century tenure with the AFROAmerican Newspapers, he was driving force that raised the AFRO chain to prominence as one of the nation’s most important national minority periodicals. 

Lee McCardell spent the majority of his 40-year career at the Baltimore Evening Sun and is best remembered as war correspondent from World War II, and later becoming bureau chief of the London bureau of the Baltimore Sun.  He finished his career as assistant managing editor of the Evening Sun.

Murphy and McCardell will join 68 individuals who have been inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1947.  The full listing of Hall of Fame recipients is here

Pat Richardson, formerly publisher of the Annapolis Capital and Carroll County Times, will be honored with the Distinguished Service Award in the same awards presentation on Thursday, May 28th.  Richardson led the Association as president and helped the organization navigate through difficult times.  She established the Press Services Board to guide revenue generation and brought her sales expertise to bear on behalf of the organization.  She is currently the publisher of the Virginian-Pilot in Norfolk, Virginia.

Richardson joins 10 individuals who have received the award since its inception in 2004.  The full listing of Distinguished Service Award honorees is here.

Need to pay an invoice?

Pay your MDDC invoice here
Advanced Search

Subscribe to our Friday Planner

Facebook button   Twitter button   LinkedIn button   RSS button